Going Back

“…want something, and let yourself have it…” – Debbie Reynolds

Home. Suburbs of Detroit, MI.

img_7693

Good afternoon to you all. It is the top of the year, only three days in to be exact. My eyes are wide and my heart as full as I have this gut feeling that this will be one of the better years of my life thus far; my nineteenth year. I’m sure anyone reading this may have already considered clicking off the blog as that was such a cliche statement, but I’ve truly chosen to go into this year with a completely different mindset.

It wasn’t until a few months into 2016 that I familiarized myself with the phrase “thoughts become things”. The basic meaning of the phrase is as simple as the phrase itself. For me, it began with the realization that I have the power to make my life what I want it to be, as it is my life. I know that sounds silly because…well…obviously our lives are our own. But, I never really thought about anything other than graduating high school, going to college, graduation from college, and finding a job. The year of 2016 brought me my high school graduation, it brought me a new part time job, and it brought me abrupt realization that I was not living. I was going to school, going to work, coming home, and repeating it all the next day. When I first heard “thoughts become things” (thank you Meghan Hughes!!) I really started to jump at every opportunity that was presented to me, and made it mine.

I went out with friends when I wanted, I stayed home when I wanted, I worked the way I wanted, I went to the university I wanted. Key words: I wanted. I didn’t feel like I was living for society’s sake anymore, or to impress or please anyone. I was doing all of this for me. That being said, a new year has come upon us, and tomorrow, I am going back to Eastern Michigan University to begin my second semester as a freshman, and I couldn’t be more excited for the future.

This blog is going to be all about how I am making a change in my life, to make this life mine. I hope this helps someone find the same strength or inspiration, and even if it doesn’t, it’s helping me! I don’t have a set schedule/posting days. For now, I think I am just going to post as much as I can. Join me, won’t you?

“…want something, and let yourself have it…” – Debbie Reynolds

–  Caitlyn 💙

Author: We Are of the Sun

It's a borderline scary thought to be able to share your mind with the world, but oh, isn't it wonderful? || 19 || Detroit, MI

Leave a Reply

